Beginning today, Missouri’s minimum wage will increase from $12 to $12.30 an hour.

The change is a result of a voter-approved ballot measure that passed in 2018 to gradually boost the state minimum wage by 85 cents each year through 2023.

Under Proposition B, all private Missouri businesses are required to pay at least the $12.30 hourly rate.

The law does not apply to public employees.

Tipped employees are to earn at least 50% of the minimum wage, $6.15 per hour, plus any amount necessary to bring the wage up to $12.30 per hour.

Retailer or service employers whose annual gross income is under $500,000 are not required to pay Missouri’s minimum wage rate.

Copyright 2024, Missourinet.