Kyle Moats

Kyle Moats

The NCAA announced this week that Kyle Moats, director of athletics at Missouri State University, has been appointed to serve on its Division I Football Championship Committee, effective immediately.

Moats replaces former Northern Iowa AD Troy Dannen on the committee and will serve out the remainder of Dannen’s term through August 31, 2017. At the end of that term, Moats would be eligible to be reappointed for an additional four-year term.

“I’m honored to be appointed to this committee and help it shape the future of the Football Championship Subdivision,” said Moats. “I’m looking forward to the opportunity to work with some great athletic administrators and the NCAA staff as part of the committee.”

Responsible for the playoff selections, seedings and structure of the NCAA Division I Football Championship, the committee meets twice a year, Moats explained, including the playoff selection weekend each November.

Moats is joined on the committee by fellow directors of athletics Chuck Burch of Gardner-Webb, Brian Hutchinson of Morehead State, Richard Johnson of Wofford, Nathan Pine of Holy Cross, Marty Scarano of New Hampshire, Paul Schlickmann of Central Connecticut, Brad Teague of Central Arkansas, Jeff Tingey of Idaho State, and Mark Wilson of Tennessee Tech.

Moats is completing his seventh year as director of athletics at Missouri State, which is a member of the Missouri Valley Football Conference.

Story courtesy-MSU Athletics