Mizzou running back Cody Schrader was named the winner of the Burlsworth Trophy, given to the nation’s most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on. After dominating on the Division II level at Truman State, Schrader transitioned to the SEC where he finished as the league’s leading rusher. Quite an accomplishment for the 5’9 214 lb back who started eighth on the depth chart when he arrived in Columbia.

Schrader’s 1,625 yards and 13 touchdowns in the regular season were tops in the SEC for the Tigers, who went 10-2, overall, and 6-2 in the SEC regular season. Monday afternoon, Schrader was named First-Team All-SEC by the Associated Press. In his final season at Truman State, he rushed for Division II-leading 2,074 yards on 300 carries with 24 touchdowns eclipsing the 100-yard mark five times.

“My journey wasn’t easy – it definitely had a lot of lonely nights,”. “The only thing I stayed true to was the work. It takes the dedication and discipline – and you’ve got to love this game.”

Schrader is the first running back to win the award since its establishment in 2010.

No. 9 Missouri (10-2) continues its 2023 season against No. 7 Ohio State in the 88th Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic on Friday, Dec. 29 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. Kickoff is slated for 7 p.m. CT with ESPN and Tiger Radio Network providing coverage.

Past Burlsworth Trophy winners include:
2023- Cody Schrader, Running Back- Missouri
2022- Stetson Bennett, Quarterback- Georgia
2021- Grant Morgan, Linebacker- Arkansas
2020- Jimmy Morrissey, Center- Pittsburgh
2019- Kenny Willekes, Defensive End- Michigan State
2018- Hunter Renfrow, Receiver- Clemson
2017- Luke Falk, Quarterback- Washington State
2016- Baker Mayfield, Quarterback- Oklahoma
2015- Baker Mayfield, Quarterback- Oklahoma
2014- Justin Hardy, Receiver- East Carolina
2013- Jared Abbrederis, Receiver- Wisconsin
2012- Matt McGloin, Quarterback- Penn State
2011- Austin Davis, Quarterback- Southern Mississippi
2010- Sean Bedford, Center- Georgia Tech