There were a few races in Tuesday’s primary election that were a little too close for comfort. Other races will put a few lawmakers out of a job next year.

State Sen. Bill White, of Joplin, loses his re-election bid by 1,159 votes to fellow Republican Jill Carter. She does not have a General Election opponent.

By 168 votes, state Representative John Simmons, R-Washington, has been defeated by fellow Republican Kyle Marquart. Marquart does not have an opponent in November.

In the Missouri House – District 2 race, Republican Mazzie Boyd has defeated state Representative Randy Railsback of Hamilton. Boyd easily defeated Railsback and heads to the General Election to challenge Democrat Louis Pontius.

In Missouri House – District 84, Representative Wiley Price, D-St. Louis, loses in his campaign for re-election to fellow Democrat Del Taylor.

Taylor does not have an opponent in the General Election.

Two other upsets were in the Missouri Senate – in Districts 2 and 22.

State Representative Nick Schroer, R-O’Fallon, pulled off the win in Senate District 2 against Missouri House Speaker Pro Tem John Wiemann, R-O’Fallon. Schroer ended the race with 12,039 votes to Wiemann’s 8,863.

Schroer takes on Democrat Michael Sinclair in November.

In state Senate District 22, a four-way Republican race ends with state Representative Mary Elizabeth Coleman taking home the win. She gained 7,614 votes. State Representative Dan Shaul, of Imperial, trailed with 5,093 and so did former State Representative Jeff Roorda with 5,245 votes. State Representative Shane Roden, of Cedar Hill, had 3,886 votes.

Coleman goes up against Democrat Benjamin Hagin in November.

State Sen. Justin Brown, R-Rolla, moves to the General Election after winning the Republican nomination by 384 votes. State Representative Suzie Pollock, R-Lebanon, gave him a run for his money.

In his re-election quest, Brown takes on Democrat Tara Anura in November.

State Representative Travis Fitzwater, of Holts Summit, squeaked by to win the Republican nomination in the Missouri Senate – District 10 race. Only 682 votes separated him from Republican Mike Carter.

Fitzwater moves to the General Election in November to take on Libertarian Catherine Dreher.

State Representative Tony Lovasco, R-O’Fallon, barely held onto his District 64 seat. He won re-election after defeating fellow Republican Deanna Self by 69 votes. Lovasco does not have a challenger in November.

Phil Amato tops fellow Republican Terry Burgess to clinch the House – District 113 seat. Amato defeated Burgess by 272 votes. He does not have a General Election opponent.

In House District 101, Republican Ben Keathly grabs 2,477 votes against John Brunner’s 2,040. Keathly moves on to the General Election.

Copyright © 2022 · Missourinet