Kansas SpeedwayThere will be a change in NASCAR’s 2017 Sprint Cup schedule.

The second round of the 2017 playoffs will be changed with Talladega Superspeedway and Kansas Speedway swapping spots on the schedule.  Kansas will host the race next season when the championship field is cut from the 12 to eight drivers.  The 2017 season will open Feb. 26 with the 59th running of the Daytona 500.

“I would say it definitely adds a different layer of pressure for the competitors; I would say it adds certainly to the weekend and to the Chase overall,” NASCAR Senior Vice President of Racing Operations Jim Cassidy said. “But at the same time it does not take away from, on the Talladega side, what the fans are going to get. To me, it’s good for the fans on either side because … no matter when you go to Talladega you’re going to see a product that is quite frankly some of the most popular racing that we’ve got on the circuit. Now with Kansas in that spot, you add another layer of complexity to a very compelling playoff format.”