Mizzou wrestling celebrates their 2015 Dual National Championship (photo/Mizzou Athletics)

Mizzou wrestling celebrates their 2015 Dual National Championship (photo/Mizzou Athletics)

2nd ranked Mizzou wrestling defeated top ranked Iowa 18-12 on Sunday afternoon at the Carver Hawkeye Arena to earn the 2015 National Duals Finals championship and finish with a 24-0 regular season.

Match-By-Match Results

125: No. 1 Alan Waters (M) def. No. 5 Thomas Gilman (I) by 5-4 (TB1) decision
133: No. 6 Cory Clark (I) def. No. 20 Zach Synon (M) by 7-2 decision
141: No. 5 Lavion Mayes (M) def. No. 6 Josh Dziewa (I) by 13-6 decision
149: No. 1 Drake Houdashelt (M) def. No. 2 Brandon Sorensen (I) by 2-1 decision
157: No. 12 Joey Lavallee (M) def. No. 16 Michael Kelly (I) by 6-1 decision
165: No. 9 Nick Moore (I) def. Mikey England (M) by 3-2 decision
174: No. 3 Mike Evans (I) def. No. 4 Johnny Eblen (M) by 4-1 decision
184: No. 9 Willie Miklus (M) def. Alex Meyer (I) by 6-5 decision
197: No. 1 J’den Cox (M) def. No. 6 Nathan Burak (I) by 4-3 decision
HWT: No. 4 Bobby Telford (I) def. No. 10 Devin Mellon (M) by 6-3 decision

After the Tigers had a 12-3 lead halfway through the dual, Iowa won a pair of duals to but the Mizzou lead to three.  After a 6-5 victory for redshirt freshman Willie Miklus at 184 pounds, sophomore J’den Cox beat 5th ranked Nathan Burak at 197 to clinch the National Duals crown. The Columbia, Mo. improved to 30-0, and has now won an NCAA leading 50 consecutive dual matches. Also finishing with a perfect regular season was redshirt senior Alan Waters. The Kansas City, Mo. native went 27-0 with ten victories over ranked opponents.

Mizzou will now host the 2015 MAC Championships, March 7th and 8th.