Dave Steckel is announced at the new Missouri State football coach

Dave Steckel is announced at the new Missouri State football coach

Missouri State Athletic Director Kyle Moats announced that Dave Steckel is the Bears’ 20th head coach in program history at news conference Sunday evening on campus.

Steckel has a five year agreement with a base salary of $270,000.  He made $600,000 as defensive coordinator at Missouri.

Steckel career highlights:

–Steckel coached the defensive line for Gary Pinkel at Toledo from 1992-95. He was the defensive line coach during the 1995 undefeated season that went on to win the Las Vegas Bowl. Steckel helped coach a defensive unit that ranked No. 1 in the Mid-American Conference and 12th nationally.

–One of MU’s top recruiters, Steckel helped land numerous stars out of the state of Texas. He was responsible for the successful recruitment of Southlake Carroll High School quarterback Chase Daniel, who was named the EA Sports National High School Player of the Year.

–In his 13 seasons at Mizzou, Steckel has had at least one of his linebackers earn all-league recognition in all but one year, including two each in the 2001, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011 seasons.

Coaching Experience
2011-Present Assoc. HC/Def. Coord./Linebackers, Missouri
2009-2010 Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers, Missouri
2001-2008 Linebackers, Missouri
1996-2000 Linebackers, Rutgers
1994-1995 Defensive Line, Rutgers
1993-1994 Defensive Line, Toledo
1992-1993 Linebackers/ Special Teams, Lehigh
1986-1990 Asst. HC/ Off. Coord., Dickinson College
1984-1985 Graduate Assistant, Minnesota
1983-1984 Defensive Line, Ball State
1982-1983 Graduate Assistant, Miami (Ohio)

Missouri’s defense was one of the tops in the SEC from a team and individual standpoint.  Junior defensive end Shane Ray led the conference with 14 sacks…a school record.  Senior safety Braylon Webb was tied for third in the league with four interceptions and linebacker Kentrell Brothers was second in the SEC with 117 tackles.  The Tigers led the SEC with 42 sacks.