San Diego manager Bud Black made a great point after the Cardinals 4-3 win over the Padres.
“You saw two major league players react to a play that indicated that a tag was missed,” Black said. “You saw their catcher go back and try to tag our runner because he knew he missed him. You saw our player react knowing that he wasn’t tagged. So you saw two experienced major league players react to a play that they both knew wasn’t a tag. That’s what’s frustrating to us.”
Alexi Amarista was cut down at home when he tried to score from second, and the MLB offices in New York concluded after a four minute replay review that they could not overturn home plate umpire Bob Davidson’s out call.
There is only one camera angle that offers the best view and that is from the third base side. However, that view is still difficult to tell if A.J. Pierzynski’s glove gets the back of Amarista as he’s going by.
After the initial tag attempt, both players scrambled for home plate with Amarista beating Pierzynski. However, Davidson had motioned with his finger pointing that Pierzynski did apply a tag. He then must wait for the end of the play before he can finish his call, which he correctly handles. Once he saw that Amarista touched home plate, he went back to the tag attempt and made his original call of out.
Either way, the play would have been reviewed.
Pierzynski explains why he went after Amarista, even if he felt he tagged him.
“I thought I got his arm,” Pierzynski said. “I couldn’t hear Bob. It was a big play in the game for sure. I couldn’t see the umpire who was behind me. You just go. You hope they stay with the call. I think they got it right.”
Watch the replay again from MLB.com. Share your thoughts below. If I had to guess, I would say Pierzynski missed the tag, but if I was a replay official, I wouldn’t have enough confidence in the video I saw to say for 100% that Davidson was incorrect.