Northwest Missouri scored the first 17 points of the game and held on for a 43-28 victory over Lenoir-Rhyne to win their fourth Division II National Championship and first since 2009. NWMSU racked up 416 yards of total offense and forced two turnovers to finish the season a perfect 15-0.

Offensively Trevor Adams was 13-25 for 277 yards and three touchdowns. Reuben Thomas caught five passes for 92 yards and two scores while Jason Jozaites hauled in the other touchdown catch. Billy Creason carried the ball 13 times for 76 yards and a touchdown and Brady Bolles finished with 48 yards and a score.

DJ Gnader led the way with 12 tackles, one sack and two tackles for a loss as well as forcing a fumble. Eric Reimer had 10 tackles along with half a sack. Bryant Hummel had six tackles, one sack and recovered both Lenoir-Rhyne fumbles. Austin Barker blocked a punt out of the back of the end zone for a safety as well.

Northwest Missouri finishes 15-0 on the season and won the MIAA regular season championship. This also marks the third time in the last five seasons that a team from the MIAA has captured the Division II National Championship with it being the sixth overall national championship for the league in football.

Story courtesy of