Missouri Tigers defensive end Michael Sam was named the SEC defensive player of the year by the Associated Press. Sam was also named a first-team all-defensive player along with cornerback E.J. Gaines. Offensive lineman Justin Britt was named first-team offense.  Dorial Green-Beckham and Andrew Wilson were named second team All-SEC, and Marcus Golden picked up honorable mention.

Sam finished with 10.5 sacks and led Missouri with 18 tackles for loss.

Auburn’s Tre Mason was named the offensive player of the year and Gus Malzhan picked up coach of the year.