Missourians making minimum wage will get a raise January 1.

The Missouri Department of Labor has announced the state’s minimum wage will increase 15 cents from $7.35 to $7.50 at the start of the new year.

State law requires minimum wage be calculated annually and could increase or decrease based on cost of living as measured by the previous year’s Consumer Price Index. The state minimum wage also can not be lower than the federal.