Everybody in Missouri has a representative in the United States House of Representatives again.  Speaker John Boehner has administered the oath of office to Jason Smith of Salem, the winner of yesterday’s special election to replace Jo Ann Emerson in southeast Missouri’s 8th district. 

Smith flew to Washington early this morning after getting 68% of the vote in a four-person race.  He’s a seventh-generation Missourian, a fourth-generation farmer, and a lawyer.  He was elected to 2005 and re-elected to three full terms afterward.  He was the youngest Speaker Pro Tem in history of the Missouri House.

Smith will be 33 on June 16th.  He becomes the sixth-youngest member of the U. S. House:

Jason Smith (born June 16, 1980)  Missouri

Joseph Patrick “Joe” Kennedy III (born October 4, 1980)  Massachusetts

Eric Swalwell, Jr. (born November 16, 1980)  California

Tulsi Gabbard (born April 12, 1981)  Hawaii

Aaron Jon Schock (born May 28, 1981)  Illinois

Patrick Erin Murphy (born March 30, 1983)  Florida

In his maiden speech in the House, Smith said he looked forward to working with the other 434 House members.  He said he knows there will be disagreements but said he hoped to work on things that can produce agreement and “work for the better.” 

Governor Nixon will have to call a special election to pick his replacement in the Missouri House.

AUDIO: Smith sworn 5:06