No. 17 Clemson hit three home runs en route to a 10-2 victory against the Saint Louis University baseball team on Saturday afternoon in an elimination game in the Columbia Regional at Carolina Stadium. Saint Louis ends its season with a 41-21 record, tying the school-record for victories.

In the first game of the regional, Saint Louis rallied from three runs down to tie it 3-3 in the top of the eighth, but South Carolina answered with four runs in the bottom half of the inning and held on for a 7-3 victory Friday.

However, after the Billikens Atlantic 10 Conference Baseball Championship last weekend completed a historic season: SLU is the only school in A-10 history to win conference titles in men’s soccer, men’s basketball and baseball in the same academic year. In addition, SLU is the only team in the country to accomplish the feat this year.

“I am truly proud of our student-athletes, coaches, staff and community as we continued to build a successful athletic program that focuses on our three goals – educating, competing and building community,” SLU director of athletics Chris May said. “We have an entire athletic program that is focused on these goals and it is rewarding to see our student-athletes succeeding at record levels. I congratulate the student-athletes, and also thank the University and Billiken athletic staff that has worked tirelessly to deliver championship level opportunities for our student-athletes.”

Last fall, the Billiken men’s soccer team defeated VCU for its second A-10 tournament title. In the winter, the SLU men’s basketball team topped VCU for its first A-10 men’s basketball crown. Last weekend, the baseball team defeated Charlotte in the championship game to claim the baseball title, its third tournament championship.

It is the first time in school history that the Billikens have won three conference tournament titles in the same academic year. In the last five years, SLU is also one of just three schools in the nation that have won conference titles in men’s soccer, men’s basketball and baseball in the same academic year – the others being Creighton and New Mexico (both in 2011-12).

Story courtesy of