The SEC announced its annual softball awards to cap the 2013 season. The University of Tennessee’s Lauren Gibson was named Player of the Year while the University of Missouri’s Chelsea Thomas earned Pitcher of the Year honors. University of Florida’s Tim Walton was selected as Coach of the Year while Freshman of the Year honors went to LSU’s Bianka Bell and University of Georgia’s Geri Ann Glasco. Jenna Marston (Missouri) was voted Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The awards were voted on by the league’s head coaches.

Thomas led Missouri in the circle with a 13-4 mark and 1.70 earned run average in league play, putting her first and second in the league in those categories, respectively. She started a league-high 19 conference games, held opponents to a .176 batting average in league play and ranks 11th in the NCAA in ERA. The senior was named a Top 25 finalist for the 2013 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award earlier this season.

Marston has a 3.99 cumulative GPA as an Industrial Engineering major at Mizzou. She earned Capital One First Team Academic All‐American recognition as a junior last season and received Capital One Academic All-District honors three times in her career. Marston was a First Team Academic All-Big 12 honoree in 2011 and 2012. She batted .371 and had a team-high 18 runs and 26 hits in league play.


2013 SEC Softball Awards

Player of the Year
Lauren Gibson, Tennessee

Pitcher of the Year
Chelsea Thomas, Missouri

Coach of the Year
Tim Walton, Florida

Freshman of the Year
Bianka Bell, LSU; Geri Ann Glasco, Georgia

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jenna Marston, Missouri

First Team All-SEC

P – Chelsea Thomas, Missouri

P – Hannah Rogers, Florida

IF – Lauren Gibson, Tennessee

IF – Raven Chavanne, Tennessee

IF – Madison Shipman, Tennessee

IF – Paige Wilson, Georgia

OF – Kayla Braud, Alabama

OF – Kat Dotson, Tennessee

OF – Kaylee Puailoa, Georgia

OF – A.J. Andrews, LSU

C – Jenna Marston, Missouri

DP/U – Lauren Haeger, Florida


SEC All-Defensive

P – Chelsea Thomas, Missouri

C – Griffin Joiner, Kentucky

1B – Morgan Estell, Auburn

2B – Lauren Gibson, Tennessee

SS – Madison Shipman, Tennessee

3B – Raven Chavanne, Tennessee

LF – Kayla Braud, Alabama

CF – Haylie McCleney, Alabama

RF – Kat Dotson, Tennessee