After the first day of the NCAA Wrestling Championships in Des Moines, Iowa, all 10 Tigers remain alive in this year’s field with four advancing to the quarterfinals. Missouri is one of three programs with all 10 grapplers still competing after the first day. Minnesota and Oklahoma State also have all 10 remaining, with seven of Oklahoma’s 10 still in the championship bracket. The first-place Nittany Lions have nine still alive, with six advancing to the quarterfinals.

No. 1 Alan Waters, No. 6 Nathan McCormick, Drake Houdashelt, and No. 1 Dom Bradley each won both of their matches Thursday and have advanced to the Quarterfinal round. Waters and Bradley held their top-spots in the 125 and HWT brackets, while Houdashelt beat No. 11 Andrew Alton of Penn State and No. 6 Dylan Ness of Minnesota. The tournament resumes Friday morning at 10 a.m. CT with the Quarterfinals on Mats 3-8 and the wrestlebacks on Mats 1, 2, 7 and 8. The winners will advance to the Semifinal round Friday night.


125 – No. 1 Alan Waters

Champ. Round 1 – Alan Waters (Missouri) won by decision over David Thorn (Minnesota) (Dec 5-2)
Champ. Round 2 – Alan Waters (Missouri) won by decision over Sean Boyle (Michigan) (Dec 4-2)

133 – No. 6 Nathan McCormick

Champ. Round 1 – Nathan McCormick (Missouri) won by decision over Erik Spjut (Virginia Tech) (Dec 3-0)
Champ. Round 2 – Nathan McCormick (Missouri) won by major decision over Dane Harlowe (Boston U.) (MD 11-1)

141 – Nicholas Hucke

Champ. Round 1 – No. 3 Michael Mangrum (Oregon St.) won in sudden victory 1 over Nicholas Hucke (Missouri) (SV-1 6-4)
Cons. Round 1 – Nicholas Hucke (Missouri) won by decision over Dean Pavlou (Chattanooga) (Dec 6-1)

149 – Drake Houdashelt

Champ. Round 1 – Drake Houdashelt (Missouri) won by decision over No. 11 Andrew Alton (Penn State) (Dec 4-1)
Champ. Round 2 – Drake Houdashelt (Missouri) won by decision over No. 6 Dylan Ness (Minnesota) (Dec 5-2)

157 – Kyle Bradley

Champ. Round 1 – Kyle Bradley (Missouri) won in tie breaker 2 over No. 4 James Green (Nebraska) (TB-2 6-5)
Champ. Round 2 – David Bonin (Northern Iowa) won by decision over Kyle Bradley (Missouri) (Dec 4-0)

165 – Zach Toal

Champ. Round 1 – Zach Toal (Missouri) won by decision over Austin Wilson (Nebraska) (Dec 6-2)
Champ. Round 2 – No. 3 Peter Yates (Virginia Tech) won by decision over Zach Toal (Missouri) (Dec 7-0)

174 – Todd Porter

Champ. Round 1 – No. 2 Mathew Brown (Penn State) won by major decision over Todd Porter (Missouri) (MD 10-1)
Cons. Round 1 – Todd Porter (Missouri) won by decision over Billy Curling (Old Dominion) (Dec 8-1)

184 – No. 11 Mike Larson

Champ. Round 1 – Mike Larson (Missouri) won by decision over Ophir Bernstein (Brown) (Dec 8-5)
Champ. Round 2 – No. 6 Ryan Loder (Northern Iowa) won by decision over Mike Larson (Missouri) (Dec 2-0)

197 – No. 12 Brent Haynes

Champ. Round 1 – Jackson Hein (Wisconsin) won in sudden victory 3 over Brent Haynes (Missouri) (SV-3 5-3)
Cons. Round 1 – Brent Haynes (Missouri) won by decision over Maxwell Huntley (Michigan) (Dec 9-4)

HWT – No. 1 Dom Bradley

Champ. Round 1 – Dom Bradley (Missouri) won by major decision over Stryker Lane (Cornell) (MD 10-1)
Champ. Round 2 – Dom Bradley (Missouri) won by decision over Matthew Gibson (Iowa St.) (Dec 4-2)