Alabama will be making their eighth appearance in the SEC Championship Game and Georgia their fourth this Saturday at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta. Below is a video history of the game that started back in 1992 with Alabama and Florida, the two long time powerhouses of this conference. Here are a few interesting tidbits about the game.

–Florida has the most MVPs of the game with seven. In fact, only six SEC schools have ever had a player claim an MVP Award.

–The first TD pass thrown in an SEC Championship game was by a famous Missourian’s husband.

–Steve Spurrier didn’t always wear a visor.

–Only two games were ever decided by a touchdown or less.

–Only one running back has ever won the MVP Award.  Justin Vincent of LSU in 2003.

–The first two SEC championship games were played in Birmingham, Alabama.