The leadership that will be in place for the 2013 session of the Missouri legislature is starting to take shape, first with the House Republicans. After securing the largest ever Republican majority in the state House in yesterday’s election, the party spent most of today selecting leadership. 

House Speaker Tim Jones (at the podium) is flanked by his now 110 member caucus. (photo courtesy: Tim Bommel, Missouri House Communications)

Tim Jones (Eureka) remains the House Speaker, a position he has held since before the veto session. The Speaker Pro Tem is Jason Smith (Salem) and replacing Jones as Majority Floor Leader is John Diehl (Town and Country).

Mike Cierpiot (Lee’s Summit) is the Assistant Majority Floor Leader, Whip is Sandy Crawford (Buffalo), Shelley Keeney (Marble Hill) is the Caucus Chair and Secretary is Mike Bernskoetter (Jefferson City).

Republicans now have 110 seats in the House, meaning the Republican majorities of both chambers now have enough members to override a governor’s veto.

House Democrats and Senate Republicans meet to select leadership on Thursday.