Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina catches a foul ball off the bat of San Francisco Giants Aubrey Huff in the eighth inning of Game 3 of the National League Championship Series at Busch Stadium in St. Louis on October 17, 2012. UPI/Bill Greenblatt

Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina won his fifth straight Gold Glove and Royals left fielder Alex Gordon won his second straight as the awards were handed out late Tuesday evening.

With his fifth Gold Glove, Molina moves further into an elite group of catchers. Only four others, Ivan Rodriguez (13), Johnny Bench (10), Bob Boone (7) and Jim Sundberg (6), have more Gold Gloves than Molina.

“It’s always such a great honor to win the Gold Glove Award,” Molina said. “It’s something that you work hard for, and it’s nice to be voted as a top player at your position.”

Gordon won his second straight Gold Glove. Gordon is the first Royals to win back to back Gold Glove since 2nd baseman Frank White in 1986-87. Gordon was second in the league in assists with 17, two behind his teammate Jeff Francoeur. Last season, he led the league with 20.

“Players always want to be consistent and produce well, so to win it again is a great honor and I’m very excited about it,” Gordon said. “Hopefully I can keep being consistent in the outfield and keep bringing these Gold Gloves home. It’s pretty cool.”

2012 Gold glove winners

 AL winner/NL winner

C Matt Wieters, BAL–Yadier Molina, STL

1B Mark Teixeira, NYY–Adam LaRoche, WAS

2B Robinson Cano, NYY–Darwin Barney, CHC

SS J.J. Hardy, BAL–Jimmy Rollins, PHI

3B Adrian Beltre, TEX–Chase Headley, SD

LF Alex Gordon, KC–Carlos Gonzalez, COL

CF Adam Jones, BAL–Andrew McCutchen, PIT

RF Josh Reddick, OAK–Jason Heyward, ATL

P Jeremy Hellickson, TB, Jake Peavy, CWS–Mark Buehrle, MIA