Ten  United States agriculture department offices are being shut down in Missouri as a budget-reallocation move.  They’re among 259 USDA offices closing nationwide.  Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack says employees won’t lose their jobs although their offices are closing.

Farm Services Agency offices are closing in Jefferson, Dallas, and Morgan Counties.  Food and Nutrition Services offices are closing in St. Louis County and in Jackson County.  The USDA is closing the Natural Resources Conservation Service office in Stoddard County.  Rural Development offices are being closed in Hillsboro, Jefferson City, Carthage, and in Jackson, in southeast Missouri. 

AUDIO: Listen to Ag Secretary Vilsack :23 mp3