Five suburban school districts are trying to put a hold on transfers from the Kansas City Public School District until they can get ready for those students.

The Kansas City system will lose accreditation January 1 and under state law, its students can seek a transfer to neighboring districts. Blue Springs, Independence, Lee’s Summit, North Kansas City and Raytown say they’ll take the students, but they want more time to handle transportation, tuition and eligibility issues.

Those districts say the transfer policy violates state law.