Tony La Russa wrapped up his 33rd season of managing, but lost the honors of being the National League’s manager of the year to two rookie managers. Ron Roenicke of Milwaukee finished second, while Arizona’s Kirk Gibson won.

La Russa received one of the 32 first-place votes, with Gibson taking 28 and Roenicke three. La Russa was the second-place candidate for two voters and third place on 13 ballots. He finished with 24 points (on a 5-3-1 scale), well behind Gibson (152 points) and Roenicke (92).