The Southeastern Conference Presidents and Chancellors voted unanimously and announced Sunday morning that the University of Missouri will join the Southeastern Conference effective July 1, 2012, with competition to begin in all sports for the 2012-13 academic year. The addition of Missouri increases SEC membership to 14 schools.

Texas A&M’s announcement on September 25th and now Missouri, are the first expansions for the SEC since 1991 when South Carolina joined the league in September of that year and Arkansas joined in August of 1991. With the addition of Arkansas and South Carolina, the SEC was the first conference to split into divisions and add a conference championship game in 1992.

Dr. Bernie Machen, President of the SEC Presidents and Chancellors and president of the University of Florida, released a statement:

“The Presidents and Chancellors of the Southeastern Conference are pleased to welcome the University of Missouri to the SEC,” said Dr. Bernie Machen, P. “The University of Missouri is a prestigious academic institution with a strong athletic tradition and a culture similar to our current institutions.”

University of Missouri Chancellor Brady Deaton commented on Sunday morning as well saying, “The Southeastern Conference is a highly successful, stable, premier athletic conference that offers exciting opportunities for the University of Missouri. In joining the SEC, MU partners with universities distinguished for their academic programs and their emphasis on student success. The SEC will provide our student-athletes with top flight competition and unparalleled visibility. We came to this decision after careful consideration of the long term best interests of our university. We believe the Southeastern Conference is an outstanding home for the Mizzou Tigers, and we take great pride in our association with this distinguished league.”

A press conference will be held on the University of Missouri campus this afternoon at 4:30 p.m. Follow and MIZ_SEC on Twitter for more news and updates.