President Obama has declared five Missouri counties have been declared major disaster areas. The declaration says people in Butler, Mississippi, New Madrid, St. Louis and Taney Counties can get federal aid for uninsured losses from tornadoes, storms and flooding. 

Property owners who’ve gone into the Mississippi River Floodway say the situation is bad. 

The Mississippi County sheriff has allowed property owners to take boats to their properties.  Sheriff Keith Moore has told the Cape Girardeau Southeast Missourian the farmers who’ve come back from their visits to still flooded properties have told him a lot of their property has been destroyed.      

Yesterday was the first time property owners were allowed back into the area since the Corps of Engineers breached the levee a week ago.