The legislature has overridden Gov. Nixon’s veto of the congressional redistricting map.

The Senate follow action begun in the House this morning. The Senate voted 28-6 to complete the override. No senator spoke on the motion made by Sen. Scott Rupp, a Republican from Wentzville, who chaired the Senate redistricting committee. One Republican senator, Bill Stouffer of Napton, voted against the override motion. Stouffer has been critical of the 5th Congressional District, which incorporates Kansas City, but stretches out to take in three rural counties.

The Missouri House has voted 109-44 to override Nixon’s veto earlier.

The legislature approved the new map last week. The governor vetoed it Saturday and asked the legislature to approve a new map. The map reflects Missouri’s loss of one Congressional seat due to the 2010 Census.

The House received the minimum votes needed to approve an override; a two-thirds vote of the body. The task became more difficult when Rep. Sally Faith, a Republican from St. Charles, left the legislature when elected as mayor of St. Charles. That reduced the Republican to 105. Three Democrats had voted for the measure initially, leaving House Republican leaders a vote short of the two-thirds needed. Democrat Jonas Hughes of Kansas City joined fellow Kansas City Democrat Michael Brown and St. Louis Democrats Jamilah Nasheed and Penny Hubbard in voting to override the veto of Nixon, a Democrat.