NASCAR will go with a less complicated scoring system which awards 43 points for first place, 42 for second and so on. The move along with a change in the Chase is designed to make it easier for fans to follow.

Three bonus points will go to the winner, a point for every driver who leads a lap and a point for the driver who leads the most, meaning the most a winner driver could score in a race is 48 points.

Still 12 drivers will qualify for the Chase, with the top 10 guaranteed spots. The two drivers with the most wins ranked from 11 to 20th in the standings will grab the last two spots, almost like Wildcard spots.

Had they used this scoring system last year, Jimmie Johnson still would have won, it would have been a little closer than 39 points. Columbia native Carl Edwards would have stayed in fourth, but Joplin native Jamie McMurray who was 14th would have been included in the chase because he won two races prior to the Chase and would have made it as the 12th seed.