A petition giving St. Louis and Kansas City the power to control their own police department is under review by the Secretary of State.

Police departments in the two cities are run by five-member boards made up of the mayor and four people appointed by the governor. The St. Louis police board dates to 1861. Kansas City’s police board has existed since 1874.