Mark McGwire. UPI/Bill Greenblatt

Roberto Alomar and Bert Blyleven were elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame on Wednesday as part of the Class of 2011. Cardinals hitting coach Mark McGwire’s vote totals continue to drop.

McGwire has never been above 25% and this year he received just 19.8% or 119 total votes. Each member must receive at least 75% of the vote to gain induction.

Longtime Cardinals and Cubs closer Lee Smith fell well short at 45.3% of the vote. Among the players appearing on the ballot for the first time, four players collected enough votes to remain on the ballot: Jeff Bagwell with 242 votes (41.7%), Larry Walker (played with the Cardinals in 2004 and 2005) with 118 votes (20.3%), Rafael Palmeiro with 64 (11%) and Juan Gonzalez with 30 (5.2%).

Click here for more on the voting.