The Chiefs picked Northwest Missouri State University head football coach Mel Tjeerdsma as their nominee for the inaugural Don Shula NFL Coach of the Year Award.

Tjeerdsma just celebrated his induction into the Division II football hall of fame this past weekend in Florence, AL, where his football team was not playing in the national title game for the first time in five years.

The Don Shula award was created to honor football coaches at all levels and recognize their accomplishments. Of course, Shula is the winningest coach in NFL history.

Tjeerdsma has been with Northwest Missouri for 17 seasons as head coach and has led the Bearcats to 12 MIAA championships and seven title game appearances. Tjeerdsma is the third-winningest active coach in Division II, and is first all-time with 32 playoff wins.