University of Central Missouri senior quarterback and Montgomery City native Eric Czerniewski is the 2010 Division II College Football Player of the Year.  He is the first quarterback to win the award since 2005, and snaps a streak of four consecutive running backs selected.  Northwest Missouri State University senior quarterback Blake Bolles was third. 

Czerniewski had previously been selected as the Daktronics Division II Offensive Player of the Year and first-team All-American quarterback by Daktronics and the American Football Coaches Association.

He set Division II records this season with 5,207 passing yards, while also leading the nation with 5,203 yards of total offense and 46 touchdown passes. He threw for more than 300 yards 10 times this season and completed 66 percent of his 670 pass attempts.

Selected Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association Offensive Player of the Year, Czerniewski was also first-team All-MIAA quarterback, first-team Daktronics Super Region 4 quarterback and Super Region 4 Offensive Player of the Year.

Czerniewki shattered every school and conference passing record for a season and career and finished his career with 12,847 passing yards, 1,043 career completions, and 107 career touchdown passes.

His efforts led Central Missouri to an 11-3 record, a number eight national ranking and into the quarterfinals of the Division II playoffs.

His career passing yardage total ranks fourth best in Division II history.

Czerniewski received 164 total points and held a slim six-point margin over West Liberty University’s Zach Amedro in the closest voting in the 25-year history of the award.

The award winner is determined in voting by the Division II sports information directors and was presented in front of a crowd of 400 at the 25th annual Harlon Hill Trophy award banquet at the Marriott Shoals Conference Center.