Several intriguing non-conference matchups along with the longtime league rivalries highlight the 2010 MIAA football schedule. The season will kick off on Thursday night Aug. 26, as Missouri Southern hosts Minnesota State-Moorhead.


Two days later (Aug. 28), Truman St., Washburn, Central Missouri and Pittsburg State open up their seasons on the road, while Fort Hays State holds its home opener. Truman will match up against St. Joseph’s (Ind.) College, Washburn will play at Colorado Mines, Central Missouri will battle Southwest Baptist, Pittsburg State will face Central Oklahoma, and Fort Hays State will host Western State (Co.). Missouri Western and defending national champion Northwest Missouri kick off on Thursday, Sept. 2, as the Griffons host Mesa State and the Bearcats face Texas A&M-Kingsville in Maryville.

The 2009 football season was a memorable one for MIAA fans, as Northwest Missouri defeated Grand Valley State, 30-23, to win the NCAA National Championship. Missouri Western brought the Mineral Water Bowl title back to the MIAA with a 34-21 victory over Augustana (S.D.), and Nebraska-Omaha represented the league in the first-ever Kanza Bowl, matching up against West Texas A&M of the Lone Star Conference.

This season figures to be just as exciting, with three new head coaches roaming MIAA sidelines. Jim Svoboda is the new head man at Central Missouri, Tim Beck replaces Chuck Broyles as the head coach at Pittsburg State, and Gregg Nesbitt is the new man in charge at Truman.

Conference play will begin Saturday, Sept. 11, as Central Missouri hosts Emporia State in the lone MIAA game of the day. The first week with a full slate of MIAA games will be Sept. 18.  The 2010 NCAA Division II Playoffs are set to start Saturday, Nov. 14. The Mineral Water Bowl and the Kanza Bowl will both be played Saturday, Dec. 4.

2010 MIAA Composite Football Schedule