Northwest Missouri State coaches, fans and student-athletes celebrated the national championships earned by the Bearcat football and cheerleading squads in a ceremony Sunday inside Bearcat Arena.

The program included speeches from Northwest president Dr. John Jasinski, head coaches Jason Sack and Mel Tjeerdsma and proclamations from Missouri state senator Brad Lager and Missouri state representative Mike Thomson.

The 2009 Bearcat football highlight video was introduced and the cheerleaders’ national-championship performance was replayed on a large video board. Championship posters and an autograph session were provided to fans in attendance. In addition, fans had the opportunity to take photos alongside the two national championship trophies and purchase merchandise provided by the Bearcat Bookstore.

The ceremony concluded with the presentation of the 2009 football awards. A listing of those awards can be found below:

Iron Bearcat Award (True Freshman): Zach Williams
Iron Bearcat Award (Redshirt Freshman): Landan Zaputil
Iron Bearcat Award (Sophomore): Kyle Kilgore
Iron Bearcat Award (Junior): Marcus Martin
Iron Bearcat Award (Senior): E.J. Hawkins

MIAA Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll Members (26)

Bill Baudler, Joe Bedard, Myles Burnsides, Blake Christopher, Collin DeBuysere, Nate DeJong, Aldwin Foster-Rettig, Ross Hastert, E.J. Hawkins, Kyle Kilgore, Ben Langston, Ryan Meyer, Clint Moore, Sean Paddock, Taylor Pierce, Jesse Pierce, Nathan Roach, Dylan Rosier, Darian Skrenes, Clark Snodgrass, Jake Soy, Michael Stadler, Ethan Stark, Adam Vondrak, Evan Wilmes, Landan Zaputil

Kermie Schneider Freshman of the Year: Todd Adolf
Phil Voge Redshirt Freshman of the Year: Tyler Shaw
Cory Stanton Walk-On of the Year: Billy Creason
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Quincy Williams
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Jeff Howeth
Most Valuable Special Teams Player: Jordan Simmons & Ike Urum-Eke (Co-MVPs)
Most Valuable Offensive Player: LaRon Council
Most Valuable Defensive Player: Myles Burnsides
Spirit of the Bearcat Award: Evan Wilmes

Story courtesy of Bearcat athletics.