Zack Greinke, AL Cy Young WinnerZack Greinke, is the AL Cy Young Award winner. Greinke went 16-8 this year for the Royals throwing 229.1 innings and making an All-Star appearance. Greinke walked just 51 with 242 strikeouts. Greinke beat out Roy Halladay of Toronto, CC Sabathia of New York, Felix Hernandez of Seattle and Justin Verlander of Detroit.  Greinke grabbed 25 of the first place votes with Hernandez getting two and Verlander one.

On Thursday, the National League will announce their Cy Young winner.  The Cardinals have two candidates.  Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainwright are two of the three front runners along with San Francisco’s Tim Lincecum.  Wednesday, the Manager of the Year Award is announced.

Listen to Zack Greinke comment on his Cy Young Award