Missouri Tiger senior DeMarre Carroll who led the Missouri Tigers who went from 16-16 last season to 25-6 and third place finish in the Big 12 was selected a First Team All-Big 12 selection.

In addition to Carroll, fellow senior Leo Lyons earned a Third Team All-Big 12 selection, while junior guard J.T. Tiller was named an honorable mention pick.

Tiller was also named the Co-Defensive Player of the Year in the league and was the only unanimous pick to the Big 12’s All-Defensive Team. Tiller shared Defensive Player of the Year honors with Kansas’ Cole Aldrich, while senior guard Matt Lawrence was named Co-Six Man of the Year with Baylor’s LaceDarius Dunn. 

Junior transfer Zaire Taylor rounded out the award winners, earning a spot on the Big 12’s All-Rookie unit. 

Carroll becomes the first Missouri Tiger to earn First Team All-Big 12 honors since Kareem Rush in 2002. He is also the first player in Missouri history to earn First Team All-Big 12 and First Team Academic All-Big 12 recognition in the same season.
Carroll led Mizzou in both scoring (17.1) and rebounding (7.3) this year, while chipping in 49 steals and 65 assists. The only Big 12 player to rank among the Top 10 in scoring, rebounding, field goal percentage and steals.    

Lyons was named to the All-Big 12 Third Team after averaging 14.4 points and 5.8 rebounds as a senior. Tiller becomes Missouri’s first Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. Tiller led the Tigers with 57 steals and six deflections per game. Lawrence recently moved into No. 2 on Missouri’s career three-point field goals list, passing Kareem Rush.  Taylor ranked second on the club with 107 assists and third with 47 steals. 

The Tigers earned the No. 3 seed in this week’s Big 12 Basketball Championship in Oklahoma City and will face the winner of Texas A&M – Texas Tech on Thursday (March 12) at 8:30 p.m. on ESPN2.