Northwest Missouri State Head Football Coach Mel Tjeerdsma and junior safety Myles Burnsides headline postseason awards announced by Don Hansen’s Football Gazette Friday.

Tjeerdsma, who led the Bearcats to their fourth straight appearance in the Division II national championship game shared National Coach of the Year honors with Minnesota-Duluth’s Bob Nielson. It’s the second publication to name Tjeerdsma its Coach of the Year this season.

Burnsides was named Defensive Back of the Year and is one of four Bearcats named to the Football Gazette NCAA Division II All-America team. It’s the fourth first-team All-America honor granted to Burnsides for his play this past season.

Roger Allen, an offensive lineman from Missouri Western, and Burnsides, were named first team All-Americans by .