Once again, former Chiefs linebacker Derrick Thomas is a finalist for the 2009 Class of Pro Football’s Hall of Fame.  Thomas has been on the list the last four year, each time coming up short.

Thomas was an 11 year vet for the Chiefs and held the team records in sacks, safeties, forced fumbles and recoveries.  He died from medical complications following a car wreck in February of 2000.

Joining Thomas on this year’s list is Bruce Smith, Rod Woodson, Shannon Sharpe, and John Randle along with former commissioner Paul Tagliabue and Bills owner Ralph Wilson.  Also on the list, Pittsburgh center Dermontti Dawson Seattle defensive lineman Cortez Kennedy and wide receivers Cris Carter and Andre Reed; defensive end Richard Dent; guards Russ Grimm, Bob Kuechenberg and Randall McDaniel.

The election will take place in Tampa on January 31, the day before the Super Bowl.