The 16th Annual MFA Oil / Break Time Shootout will be held this Saturday, Jan. 3, at Mizzou Arena.  Seven games are on the schedule this year for the event including four teams from Columbia and Jefferson City.

Moberly vs California

-The Moberly Spartans are coming off the team’s most successful season in the school’s history posting a 23-4 record. The Spartans were upended by the Class 4 State runners up, St. Charles West, the previous season in a game that ended on a last second 3-point shot.

-The California Pintos won its conference for the first time in 10 years last year, and return 6 lettermen.

Harrisburg vs Scott Co Central

-The Harrisburg Bulldogs, defending class 2 State Champions, have been final four participants in 4 of the past 6 years, with State Championships in the 2006 & 2008 seasons.

-The Scott County Central Braves team is making its first appearance in the Shootout.  The Braves are coming off of a 29-3 season, in which they placed 3rd in the Missouri Class 1A State Tournament. The Braves are led by Missouri Hall of Fame Coach, Ronnie Cookson, who has accumulated a record of 12 state championships in 14 Missouri Final Four appearances. As of Dec. 12, 2008, his career record stood at 694-141.

Glasgow vs Newtown Harris

-The Glasgow Yellowjackets are coming off of a 29-3 season in which they reached the final four and placed second in the state.

-The enrollment of grades 9-12 at Newtown Harris is only 40 students, and 14 of those 40 students are boys’ basketball players. The team has won 30 consecutive regular season games. 

Rock Bridge vs William Chrisman

-The Rock Bridge Basketball Team is coming off a 24-3 season, returning three starters from a year ago.

-The William Chrisman Bears averaged about 77 points in 2007-2008 and were led by Justin Clark (25.6 points per game) and Jon Ekey (13.8 points per game).  Clark and Ekey have signed to play basketball at Illinois State in Normal, Ill., next season and both are McDonald’s All-American nominees.

Hickman vs Lebanon

-The Hickman Kewpies are coming off a 13-14 campaign in which they won 8 out of their last 10. This year’s team is being led by one of the premier players in Central Missouri, two year starter and Senior Captain, Eric Franklin.

-The Lebanon Yellowjackets are coming off a 17-10 season and will return 5 seniors who either started or saw extensive action during the past year as juniors.

Jefferson City vs Kickapoo

-The 2008-09 Jefferson City Jays are led by returning senior lettermen Brad Allen, Khiry Draine, Nick Helming, and Jordan Bateman -Kickapoo has been to the final 4 three of the past six seasons and won State Championships in 2003 and 2006.

Coach Roy M. Green is a Hall of Fame Coach with 569 wins as he enters his 26th year at Kickapoo.

Helias vs Ozark

-Helias will play under the direction of Josh Buffington, who begins his first year as the head coach of the basketball program.

-The Tigers of Coach Steve Hunter (in his 10th year/200-70) finished the past season at 19-8 with COC and District Championships, winning 12 of their last 13 games

Tickets can be purchased in advance for $5 at participating schools or $7.50 at MFA Oil’s Break Time Convenience Stores. Tickets are $10 if purchased at Mizzou Arena on game day.