President Bush has approved Governor Matt Blunt’s request for an Expedited Major Disaster Declaration for 22 Missouri counties and the City of St. Louis as a result of the severe flooding.

This means that once damage assessments are conducted, Public Assistance, Individual Assistance, Hazard Mitigation grant funding, and low interest disaster loans from the Small Business Administration can be requested.

The 22 Missouri counties are: Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Cape Girardeau, Clark, Holt, Jefferson, Lewis, Lincoln, Marion, Mississippi, New Madrid, Nodaway, Pemiscot, Perry, Pike, Platte, Ralls, St. Charles, St Louis, Ste Genevieve and Scott Counties and the City of St. Louis.