We pretty much knew Mizzou quarterback Chase Daniel would be invited to the 73 rd Heisman Trophy announcement.  Now we know who will be joining him.  Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan, and Arkansas running back Darren McFadden will join Chase at the Nokia Theatre in Times Square.  You can watch it on ESPN at 7 o’clock, they’ll announce the winner around 7:50 our time.

Florida’s Tebow could be the first Sophomore to win the Heisman.  Tebow ran for 838 yards and a Southeastern Conference-record 22 touchdowns. He’s also the nation’s second-leading passer, having completed 68 percent of his throws for 3,132 yards, with 29 touchdowns and just six interceptions in his first season as a starter.

Arkansas’ McFadden was the runner-up in last year’s Heisman.  McFadden could become the fifth player to win the Heisman the year after being the runner-up, joining Tom Harmon of Michigan, Glenn Davis of Army, O.J. Simpson of USC and Herschel Walker of Georgia.  McFadden started the season slowly while bringing up his numbers late in the season.

In the Warriors’ run-and-shoot offense, Brennan passed for 4,174 and 38 touchdowns. He also set the major college record for career touchdown passes with 131.

Daniel was one of six quarterbacks to reach 4,000 yards passing this season. He threw for 4,170 yards and 33 TDs.

I know most reading this won’t be happy with my decision, but I think Tebow will win and in fact become the first Sophomore to win the award.  I don’t think McFadden has been consistent enough and in all honesty Brennan and Daniel are going to put up ridiculous pass numbers because that’s how their offense is set up.  If you look at Tebow, he amassed almost 4,000 yards by throwing and running the football and he’s the second best passer in the country and led his conference in touchdowns.