Press Release:  Walter Camp Football Foundation

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the five finalists for its 2007 Player of the Year award. Four quarterbacks – Chase Daniel (Missouri), Dennis Dixon (Oregon), Matt Ryan (Boston College) and Tim Tebow (Florida) – are on the list along with running back Darren McFadden (Arkansas), a finalist for the second straight season.

The 2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, voted on by the 119 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on the 6:00 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 6. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Saturday, January 12, 2008 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

CHASE DANIEL – MISSOURI – Junior, Quarterback – Has led the top-ranked Tigers (11-1) to a berth in the Big 12 championship game… The leader of an offense that averages 41.9 points a game, Daniel has passed for 3,951 yards and 28 touchdowns… Has completed 70.5 percent (349-of-495) of his passes – good for fourth in the nation… Has eight 300-yard passing efforts and threw five touchdowns in a game twice this season.