A pair of legendary former coaches, along with four former standout student-athletes, have been selected for induction into the University of Missouri Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame.  They will represent the 18th induction class since the inception of the Hall in 1990.  Additionally, former men’s basketball coach Norm Stewart will also be recognized for his coaching achievements at MU, to go along with his previous induction as a student-athlete.

Here is a look at this year’s inductees, with more extensive biographical information to follow:


Dianne Berg – Volleyball (1983-85) [Native of Moose Lake, Minn.]

One of the alltime greats in program history who still holds numerous records some 20-plus years after her playing days;

Christian Cantwell – Track & Field (2000-03) [Native of Eldon, Mo.]

Arguably the most decorated track and field athlete in school history who has gone on to become the world’s top-ranked shot putter in his professional career;

Conrad Goode – Football (1980-83) [Native of St. Louis, Mo.]

All-American offensive lineman in 1983 who played on three bowl teams and joins his father, Conrad Hitcher, in the MU Hall of Fame;

Charles Henke – Men’s Basketball (1959-61) [Native of Malta Bend, Mo.]

Smalltown Missouri native who became one of the first true dominant centers in program history, earning All-American honors in 1961;

Charles "Jake" Jacobson – Gymnastics Coach (1979-99) [Native of Des Moines, Iowa]

The father of Mizzou Gymnastics who took the program from scratch and helped develop and market it into one of local and national prominence;

Joann Rutherford – Women’s Basketball Coach (1976-98) [Native of Pittsburg, Kan.]

Winningest women’s basketball coach at Mizzou who won four regular-season Big 8 titles and five post-season league trophies, and was the Big 8 Coach of the Decade in the 1980s;


Norm Stewart – Men’s Basketball Coach (1967-99) [Native of Shelbyville, Mo.]

Winningest coach in MU history who is being recognized for his coaching resume – was previously inducted only as an athlete previously as part of the inaugural 1990 class.