Governor Blunt has put 23 counties under drought alert in eastern and southeast Missouri. Governor Blunt has activated the Drought Assessment Committee within the natural resources department. The governor also has asked that conditions in 65 other counties be closely monitored.

The 23 counties are: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Frankin, Iron, Jefferson, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Perry, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Charles, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Scott, Stoddard, Washington, and Wayne.

The 65 counties under a drought advisory are:  Audrain, Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Boone, Caldwell, Callaway, Camden, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Christian, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dent, Douglas, Gasconade, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Howell, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pettis, Phelps, Pike, Platte, Pulaski, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, St. Clair, Saline, Shannon, Shelby, Stone, Taney, Texas, Vernon, and Warren.