President Bush has declared 17 counties to be major disaster areas and has authorized federal aid to help with recovery from severe storms and flooding last month.

The federal money will supplement state and local recovery efforts.

The 17 counties, in alphabetical order: Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Clay and Daviess; DeKalb, Gentry, Holt, Jackson, and Lafayette Counties; and the counties of Livingston, Morgan, Nodaway, Osage, and Platte.