The ballot initiative approved by voters in November raised Missouri’s minimum wage from $5.15 an hour to $6.50 an hour. But not everyone who is at the bottom of the pay scale will be getting higher a higher salary now that the new law has kicked in. Allen Dillingham, Director of the Missouri Division of Labor Standards, says there are some small businesses to which the new law does not apply. Those are businesses with gross annual sales equal to or less than $500,000. Dillingham points out there are very few businesses that do not meet the gross annual sales threshold. Most of them are Mom and Pop operations. Then there are employees who receive tips. Employers are not required to pay these workers the new $6.50 an hour wage, provided the prevailing the wages and tips received by these workers come out to at least $6.50 an hour.
Related web sites:
Missouri Minimum Wage