Royals’ broadcaster Denny Matthews will find out today whether or not he will be honored at the Baseball Hall of Fame later this year. The winner of the Ford C. Frick Award, which is an annual honor given to a broadcaster who have made “major contributions to baseball”, will be revealed this afternoon at 1PM.. Matthews, who has been in the Royals’ booth since the team’s inception, is one of ten candidates for the award.

Also up for the award is the late Dizzy Dean. The former Cardinals’ pitcher broadcast games for both the Cardinals and Browns for 24 seasons and later parlayed his success on the radio into a successful career doing the ABC and CBS television game of the week.

The award does not equate an induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame, however the winners of the award, given since 1978, are recognized in the hall. Former winners with Missouri ties include former Cardinals broadcaster Jack Buck (1987) and partner Harry Caray (1989), St. Louis native Joe Garagiola (1991) and former St. Louis Cardinal Bob Uecker (2003).

Other finalists for the Ford C. Frick Award
•Tom Cheek, Expos/Blue Jays Broadcaster
•Ken Coleman, Indians/Reds/Red Sox broadcaster
•Jacques Doucet, Expos French broadcaster
•Tony Kubek, National TV and Blue Jays/Yankees broadcaster
•Graham McNamee broadcasting pioneer, called first 12 World Series
•Dave Niehaus, former Mariners broadcaster
•Gene Elston, Cubs/Astros and national TV broadcaster
•Bill King, A’s broadcaster