Northwest Missouri St. head football coach Mel Tjeerdsma can add another title to his business card. On Tuesday he was elected president of the American Football Coaches Association. According to its website, the AFCA serves 10,000 football coaches “from all levels of the profession”.

The AFCA also elected Ken Sparks of Carson-Newman College vice president, Tyrone Willingham of Washington University second vice president and Dick Tomey of San Jose St. third vice-president.

Tjeerdsma was elected to the AFCA Board of Trustees in 1999.