The histories of the two teams involved in the MSHSAA Class 4 Show-Me Bowl are very different. On one hand, you have Camdenton, which is making its seventh trip to the title game and looking for its fifth championship. On the other, you have Affton, which is there for the first time and trying to get title number one.

The Lakers have been ranked number one for the entire season, putting together a 13-0 record along the way. Leading them on offense has been senior running back Dennis Chairs, who became Camdenton’s all-time leading rusher this year. Chairs has almost 1,600 yards rushing with 22 touchdowns and is averaging 132.3 yards per game.

But Affton has a counter-attack on the ground. Quarterback D.J. Ford has rattled off 1,025 yards on the ground with 16 touchdowns in 2005. He has 719 yards passing this year with 13 TD’s in the air, compared to just four interceptions.

On defense, Camdenton has given up just 11.6 points per game, while Affton has given up just 7.5 points per game. But when you look closer at the Cougars numbers since Week 5 of the regular season, their stats are even better. Over the last nine games Affton’s defense has produced four shutouts, giving up just 5.1 points per game in that span.

With a win in the title game, Affton head coach Dan Oliver will move over .500 as a head coach with a record of 48-47. Shore enters the game with an overall record of 327-83-3.


The 2005 MSHSAA Class 5 Show-Me Bowl is a repeat of the 2004 game, as Raymore-Peculiar and McCluer North square off again.

Derrick Washington and Thomas Hodges have led a vicious running attack for Ray-Pec in their run to repeat. Running backs Derrick Washington and Thomas Hodges have put up almost identical numbers in carries (Washington 131, Hodges 132), yards (Washington 1,060, Hodges 1,088) and touchdowns (Washington 25, Hodges 27). Add quarterback Carson Palmer and his 1,321 yards passing and 10 touchdowns and you have an offense that has scored at least 35 points in every game but one this season (in week three Ray-Pec beat Park Hill 27-24).

The Panthers enter the game tied with MICDS for the longest current winning streak in the state with 27 victories in a row.

McCluer North enters the state championship with six game winning streak. The Stars won their first two games before dropping decisions in consecutive weeks to Hazelwood East and Pattonville. While their offense isn’t as prolific as Ray-Pec’s, they still have some impressive performers. Running back Quartize Jackson has 1,044 yards on the season with 12 TD’s. Todd Washington and quarterback Ben Hendrix, help even out the rushing attacke with a combined 829 yards on the ground this season and 11 TD’s between them.

In the air, Hendrix has 1,514 yards and 16 touchdowns. His favorite target is Norris Johnson who has an eye-popping average of 32.57 yards per reception. He has 912 yards on 28 catches and has caught 13 of Hendrix’s 16 TD tosses.

The Stars will play in the state championship for the fifth time and are looking for their first win at the Show-Me Bowl.


DeSmet High School was responsible for the most shocking moment of the 2005 MSHSAA Class 6 playoffs when they crushed Rockhurst 59-39 in the semifinals. Rockhurst, which was ranked nationally, had only given up double-digit scoring four times before the Spartans exploded. Quarterback Tommy Corwin passed for 476 yards and five touchdowns in the game. Notre Dame recruit Munir Prince has 1,187 yards rushing and 24 touchdowns.

DeSmet hasn’t been to the state championship since a 16-8 loss to Joplin Parkwood High School in 1975.

Their opponent is Hazelwood Central, which is making its 12th appearance in the Show-Me Bowl. They’re 3-8 in the title game, winning their last championship in 1996. Hazelwood’s offense is led by running back Kelvin Austin, who has 1,289 yards rushing with 11 touchdowns.

Hazelwood Central’s trip to the post-season seemed a little less probable after starting the season 3-3, but have since reeled off six wins in a row.

The game will end a state championship drought for St. Louis in the state’s largest class. Mehlville High School is the last team in the area to win it all, when they beat Rockhurst 15-7 in the 1999 Class 5A championship (there were only five classes at the time).