For the second straight year, Chiefs quarterback Trent Green won the Derrick Thomas Award, given annually to the team MVP. Green set single-season franchise records for completions (369) and passing yards (4,591). He also posted the second-highest completion percentage (66.4) in club history. Green ranked second in the NFL in passing yards and seventh in passer rating. Defensive end Jared Allen won the Mack Lee Hill Award for top rooke. Allen as third among Chiefs defensive lineman in tackles, and finished second on the team in quarterback pressures.