The Environmental Protection Agency lists most of the St. Louis area as being in violation of new air quality standards for soot in the air. The City of St. Louis and the counties of St. Louis, St. Charles, Jefferson and Franklin are listed as violators. So are three counties on the Illinois side of the metro area. The states with non-attainment counties have a year to come up with a plan for meeting the new standards and the areas must meet the standards by 2010.