CLASS 6—The champion in Class 6 will be hard to predict. In the so-called west bracket Rockhurst will travel to Blue Springs and DeSmet hosts Columbia Hickman. Rockhurst goes in search of its eighth state title, while Blue Springs will vie for its fourth. Hickman, which is ranked number one in the state of Missouri and is looking for its second state championship, is 8-1. Their only loss is to Rockhurst, Rockhurst’s only loss is to Blue Springs and Blue Spring’s only loss is to Hickman. DeSmet may be the underdog in the bracket but they come into the playoffs with the only undefeated record at 10-0. While most of the attention has been placed on the West, the East will have something to say about it. Kirkwood is under first-year head coach Larry Frost, who made the jump from Class 4 to Class 6 after serving as the head coach at Clayton high school. Kirkwood will face Mehlville, which makes it’s second straight trip to the post season and is looking to add a second state title trophy to the one they won in 1999. Mehlville was 4-3 before averaging 47 points per game in districts, winning all three games. CBC will host two-time state champion Hazelwood East…CLASS 5—While Class 6 is full of former state champions, there isn’t a single former champ in the Class 5 playoffs, though there are some teams that have had some painful memories from title games. McCluer North will host Vashon on Saturday afternoon as they try to exorcise demons that have haunted them in the post season. McCluer North has advanced to the championship game three times and have been shut out on each occasion. Parkway Central has lost state championship contests and will host Summit High school. Raymore-Peculiar made it to the 2002 Class 5 Show-Me Bowl and lost to Webster Groves. This year they’re ranked #1 in the state and are a perfect 10-0—they host Waynesville High School. Park Hill South will host Truman.