The University of Missouri system has four campuses – the main one located in Columbia with branches in St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla. It might soon add a fifth: Maryville. Officials with Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville have been talking with University of Missouri officials about becoming part of the university system. The benefit for Northwest Missouri would be picking up doctoral programs, which only the University of Missouri offers in the state. The University of Missouri already offers joint graduate programs in education, engineering management and social work on the Maryville campus. Northwest is known for its alternative fuels program that saves money heating and cooling the campus. That program could be used on the four University of Missouri campuses.